Learning disability health and social care self assessment framework

The Learning Disability (LD) Health and Social Care Self-Assessment framework is a national temperature check on how the local health and social care services meet the needs of people with learning disabilities, their carers and families.

The process involves a series of questions that need to be answered with a Red Amber Green (RAG) rating. Evidence should be provided as a rationale for the rating.

This year, for the first time, the evidence for all of the responses to the questions will be provided on each CCG website across the areas of Hammersmith and Fulham, West London (The Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea including Queens Park and Paddington) and Central London (Westminster excluding Queens Park and Paddington).

There are two parts to the self assessment:

1. The data

Which has been collected from a range of questions about statistics, includes:

  • Demographics
  • Cancer Screening
  • Wider health
  • Mortality
  • Annual Health Checks and Health Action plans
  • Hospital Care
  • Challenging behaviour
  • Social care assessment
  • Accommodation
  • Employment
  • Safeguarding
  • Capacity and consent
  • Children and transition


2. RAG rated questions

Which have been divided into three sections:

1. Staying Healthy: 7 questions based on Primary, Acute and Community Health Care

2. Keeping Safe: 9 questions based on capacity, consent, quality and safeguardin

3. Living well: 8 questions based on community services and working in partnership


For additional information visit the national website here.

An easy read sheet is currently being developed for people with learning disabilities to access this information. 

The papers will soon be available to download from this website.